CSGO Ranking System Explained

Don't know how CSGO ranks its players? Don't worry here is how they rank.

CS: GO (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive) is one of the most popular multiplayer FPS for PC and Console Gaming. Launched way back in 2012, CSGO constantly receives small and big patch updates from its developers. Despite getting competition from other multiplayer games it has still managed to maintain its popularity among gamers. For those who are new to this game and don’t know how the game’s ranking system works, this guide is the right choice for players to understand the CSGO Ranking System.

CS:GO Ranking System

CS: GO consists variety of players divided into different levels which are earned by playing different modes in the game. These modes are namely, Casual, Arms Race, Demolition, Danger Zone, Deathmatch, Wingman, Flying Scoutsmen, and Retakes. There are a total of 40 levels in the game which reward players with different gun skins and service medals if they achieve a certain level.

What are the Ranks in CSGO?

CS GO Ranking System Ranks (csgo)

The ranks in CS: GO are as follows:

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • The Global Elite

For ranking in CS: GO, First you need to reach level 2 by playing one of the modes mentioned above. This will help the game system to judge your skills and rank accordingly. Once you reach level 2, now you are eligible for Competitive matches which will help you raise your rankings. To earn a rank in the game, you have to win 10 competitive matches with a limit of two matches per day. Players will not be matched with too high-ranked players like a player with Legendary Eagle rank.

Players at rank from Silver I to Silver Elite Master are beginners who play just for fun and are not serious to raise their rank. Players from Gold Nova I to The Global Elite are serious players who have sufficient time in the game and use strategies and skills to kill you. Once you win the first 10 competitive matches the limit is lifted. Players can only queue with five ranks higher or lower from them in competitive matches if they are playing in solo queue matches. This is not applicable for pre-formed teams.

How does the Ranking System Work?

Ranking in CS: GO is quite complicated as Valve has never unveiled any information about its ranking system for the game. Earlier the game modified and used the ELO Ranking system ( a ranking system designed for multiplayer games with single-player V/S single player) to rank the players in the game that assigned a specific number to the player. This system had many flaws that forced the developers to find an alternative for ranking their players. They considered Glicko 2 as an alternative and changed to it. Glicko 2 ranking system with modification ranked players with a range of numbers (1000-2000) making easy matchmaking for players.

In the Process of the ranking system, as discussed above, the ranking of a player is considered keeping many factors in mind such as Kill Death Ratio, Matches played, matches won, bombs planted, bomb disposal, and many more. The game also ranks players based on how often they are participating in the matches and how much contribution they have made to win the match.

If a player wants to improve their ranking they can team up with players with the same interest. They need to practice and spend more time in the game to improve their game and rank as well. Players need to develop and use strategies to win a match. Players should also maintain a good amount of kills to maintain their rank for a longer amount of time.

Now that the CSGO ranking system is clear, check out our guide on the CSGO crosshair generator.