How To Watch Star Wars In Order (2022)

Popular methods to watch Star Wars in order include chronological, release, and Machete.

With the release of Star Wars content like the Obi-Wan Kenobi series as well as The Mandalorian, fans are looking to revisit the Star movies in order. In addition, there are a lot of new viewers that have not gotten around to watching all the Star Wars content available. With multiple movies and TV series, keeping a track of the Star Wars watch order can be a task.

There are multiple ways to watch the Star Wars saga ranging from the Chronological order to the Release order and the Machete order. We have listed all these methods below so viewers can pick the one they like the most.


How To Watch All Star Wars Content In Order


As we stated before, there are multiple ways to watch Star Wars in order. We have listed three of the most popular orders for a Star Wars watch below.


Chronological Order

This is the best method for viewers that like a linear timeline. It takes all the Star Wars content and puts it in the chronological order that it happened in that timeline. If viewers want to keep it simple, this is the Star Wars watch order to follow.

  • Star Wars: Episode 1 – The Phantom Menace
  • Star Wars: Episode 2 – Attack of the Clones
  • Star Wars: Episode 3 – Revenge of the Sith
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Star Wars: Episode 4 – A New Hope
  • Star Wars: Episode 5 – The Empire Strikes Back
  • Star Wars: Episode 6 – Return of the Jedi
  • The Mandalorian Seasons 1 and 2
  • The Book of Boba Fett
  • Star Wars: Episode 7 – The Force Awakens
  • Star Wars: Episode 8 – The Last Jedi
  • Star Wars: Episode 9 – The Rise of Skywalker


Release Order

This one is for the purists that want to experience the movies and TV shows in the order that the creators wanted them viewed. It includes multiple time jumps, flashbacks, and ruins of a few big plot twists ahead of time. However, it is the order that fans following the Star War saga from the start got to experience the content in.

  • Episode 4: A New Hope
  • Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back
  • Episode 6: Return of the Jedi
  • Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
  • Episode 2: Attack of the Clones
  • Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith
  • Episode 7: The Force Awakens
  • Rogue One
  • Episode 8: The Last Jedi
  • Solo
  • The Mandalorian season 1
  • Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker
  • The Mandalorian season 2
  • The Book of Boba Fett
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi


Machete Order

This one is a hack and slash method for viewers that would just like to focus on the story of Luke Skywalker. However, there is no correct place to interject the new content in this watch order. It is mainly for viewers hat want to follow the main storyline but do not like The Phantom Menace at all and would like to deny its existence in the timeline.

  • A New Hope
  • The Empire Strikes Back
  • Attack of the Clones
  • Revenge of the Sith
  • Return of the Jedi
  • The Force Awakens
  • The Last Jedi
  • The Rise of Skywalker

These are the three most popular ways to watch Star Wars in order. However, the best method depends on what the viewer wants out of the experience.

For more Entertainment content, check out How To Watch The Marvel Netflix Shows In Order On Disney Plus?


online payday loans for bad credit payday loans online no credit check instant approval